The Prime Minister has appointed Victoria Barnsley, Professor Jennifer Latto and John Studzinski as Trustees of the Tate Gallery for a term of five years. All three appointments took effect from 1 August 1998.

Victoria Barnsley read English at University College, London, and then took a postgraduate degree in French and English Literature at the University of York. After a few years’ extensive travel (she was part of the first team of British journalists to be allowed into Tibet in 1980) she entered book publishing. In 1984, aged 30, she founded the independent publishing house Fourth Estate, of which she is Chairman and Managing Director.

Professor Jennifer Latto is the Provost of Liverpool John Moores University. She read Psychology at Cambridge and worked as an Educational Psychologist in Essex and Cheshire. Awarded the Chair of Education at John Moores in 1991, she has served on the Council of National Academic Awards and a number of Higher Education Funding Council working parties. From 1993 to 1995 she was Co-Chair of the University Council for the Education of Teachers. She has been a member of the Tate Gallery Liverpool Advisory Council since 1985.

John Studzinski is a Managing Director of Morgan Stanley Dean Witter and currently serves as Head of Morgan Stanley’s European Investment Banking Business. He is a member of the Tate Gallery of Modern Art Fundraising Group and a founding member of the Passage Day Centre, one of the largest day care centres for the homeless in London. Mr Studzinski is also strongly involved with a number of initiatives for the cultivation and support of young writers, artists and musicians.

Notes to Editor

The Tate Gallery is served by 12 Trustees, including three artists, currently Professor Michael Craig-Martin, Peter Doig and Bill Woodrow. Ten are appointed by the Prime Minister and one (Sir Mark Richmond) is appointed by the National Gallery to serve as a liaison between the two institutions.
The full list of Tate Gallery Trustees is: Professor Dawn Ades, Victoria Barnsley, The Hon Mrs Janet de Botton, Sir Richard Carew Pole, Professor Michael Craig-Martin, Peter Doig, Professor Jennifer Latto, Sir Christopher Mallaby, Sir Mark Richmond, John Studzinski, David Verey (Chairman) and Bill Woodrow.


For further information please contact Tate Press Office:Call + 44 (0)20 7887 8730 / 4939 / 4906 Email 20 John Islip Street MillbankLondon SW1P 4RG