The Turner Prize 2010 has been awarded to Susan Philipsz, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening. The £25,000 prize was presented by Miuccia Prada. This year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The event was broadcast live on Channel 4 News. 

The jury applauded the distinctive, imaginative worlds of all the artists and the strengths of their diverse artistic practices. They awarded the prize to Susan Philipsz for the presentations of Lowlands at the Glasgow International Festival of Visual Art and Long Gone in the group exhibition Mirrors at MARCO Museo de Arte Comtemporánea de Vigo, Spain. The jury admired the way in which her work provokes both intellectual and instinctive responses and reflects a series of decisions about the relationship between sound and sight.  Philipsz’s work draws on the immersive properties of sound and uses her own voice to create powerful sculptural experiences.  

Notes to Editor

The Turner Prize 2010 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 27 April 2010. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for 2010 were: Dexter Dalwood, Angela de la Cruz, The Otolith Group and Susan Philipsz.
The members of the Turner Prize 2010 Jury were: Isabel Carlos, Director, Centre for Modern Art CAMJAP; Philip Hensher, Writer, critic and journalist; Andrew Nairne, Executive Director, Arts Strategy, Arts Council England; Polly Staple, Director, Chisenhale Gallery and Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury.
Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey; 2009 Richard Wright.
The exhibition of the four shortlisted artists is at Tate Britain until 3 January 2011.


For further information contact Tate Press Office:
Call + 44 (0)20 7887 8730 / 4939 / 4906
20 John Islip Street
London SW1P 4RG