Duncan Campbell wins Turner Prize 2014 banner

Duncan Campbell is the winner of the 30th Turner Prize.

He collected the £25,000 prize this evening at a ceremony at Tate Britain.

He said: ‘Being nominated for the prize has given me great heart. The opinions of the jury mean a great deal to me.’

Born in Dublin in 1972, Campbell lives and works in Glasgow. He is known for his films about controversial figures such as the Irish political activist Bernadette Devlin or the car manufacturer John DeLorean.

Campbell’s winning work, It for Others 2013, is his response to the admired 1953 film by Chris Marker and Alain Resnais called Statues Also Die, which looked at how the meaning of African artefacts was changed by displaying them in Western museums. It was made for Scotland’s pavilion at this year’s Venice Biennale, and includes new work by choreographer Michael Clark. Campbell says it is about ‘how you can understand certain histories through objects’.

The jury applauded the four nominated artists’ commitment and the strengths of their artistic practices. They awarded the prize to Duncan Campbell in recognition of an ambitious and complex film which rewards repeated viewing. The jury admired his exceptional dedication to making a work which speaks about the construction of value and meaning in ways that are topical and compelling.

The other shortlisted artists were: printmaker Ciara Phillips, who invites people to come and work with her; James Richards, who filmed close-ups of art books in a Tokyo library; and Tris Vonna-Michell for his rapid-fire live performances.

The Turner Prize was first awarded in 1984, when it was won by the painter Malcolm Morley.  In the 30 years since it has become one of the most famous and prestigious visual arts awards in the world. Other past winners include Gilbert & George, Anish Kapoor, Damien Hirst, Chris Ofili and Grayson Perry.

This year’s prize was awarded by the actor Chiwetel Ejiofor, who was Oscar-nominated for his role in 12 Years a Slave, directed by 1999 Turner Prize winner Steve McQueen.

Ejiofor said: ‘I am delighted and honoured to be presenting this year’s Turner Prize. For 30 years this prestigious award has represented, in its winners and nominees alike, extraordinary artistic endeavour that has delighted, challenged and inspired fellow artists and lovers of art across the globe.’

The exhibition of work by the four shortlisted artists runs at Tate Britain until 4 January 2015.