The New English Art Club (NEAC) was founded in London in 1886 as an exhibiting society by artists influenced by impressionism and whose work was rejected by the conservative Royal Academy

1 of 3
  • Sir George Clausen, 'The Girl at the Gate' 1889

    Sir George Clausen
    The Girl at the Gate 1889
    Oil on canvas
    support: 1714 x 1384 mm frame: 2200 x 1870 x 215 mm
    Presented by the Trustees of the Chantrey Bequest 1890 Tate

    View the main page for this artwork

  • Walter Richard Sickert, 'Minnie Cunningham at the Old Bedford' 1892

    Walter Richard Sickert
    Minnie Cunningham at the Old Bedford 1892
    Oil paint on canvas
    support: 765 x 638 mm frame: 915 x 787 x 69 mm
    Purchased 1976 Tate

    View the main page for this artwork

  • Philip Wilson Steer, 'Girls Running, Walberswick Pier' 1888-94

    Philip Wilson Steer
    Girls Running, Walberswick Pier 1888-94
    Oil on canvas
    support: 629 x 927 mm frame: 860 x 1160 x 95 mm
    Presented by Lady Augustus Daniel 1951 Tate

    View the main page for this artwork

Key early members were James Abbott McNeill Whistler (although he soon resigned) Walter Sickert and Philip Steer. Others in the first show included Sir George Clausen, Stanhope Forbes and John Singer Sargent.

Initially avant-garde, the NEAC quickly became increasingly conservative and Sickert and Steer formed an ‘impressionist nucleus’ within it, staging their own show London Impressionists in 1889. NEAC remained important as a showcase for advanced art until 1911 when it was challenged by the Camden Town Group and London Group. It continued to be influential into the 1920s with artists such as Augustus John and Sir Stanley Spencer exhibiting.

It still exists, now preserving the impressionist tradition.