The Art Fund Prize for Museum of the Year 2014

We offer warm congratulations to Yorkshire Sculpture Park, the winner of this year’s prestigious Art Fund Prize for Museum of the Year 2014

Announced at a celebration at the National Gallery in London on Wednesday 9 July 2014, this is an outstanding achievement and recognition of Yorkshire Sculpture Park’s huge success.

We are delighted that Tate Britain was one of the finalists for the prize and that the major redevelopments at the gallery were praised by the judges.

A special year

2013 was a very special year for Tate Britain as it saw the transformation of the oldest part of the Grade II* listed building by architects Caruso St John.

In May 2013, following the refurbishment of nine galleries to 21st century standards, the world’s greatest collection of British art was represented in a new continuous chronological display: the BP Walk through British Art. Additionally, BP Spotlight collection displays were also introduced to offer more variety and depth on particular artworks, artists or themes.

In November, the main entrance on Millbank reopened, combining new architectural features with the excavation of the most beautiful original elements of the building. New learning studios and a dedicated schools’ entrance and reception, together with the opening of the Rotunda’s balcony as an elegant members’ area, have transformed the experience of the 1.5 million visitors who enjoy Tate Britain each year.

2013 was an exceptional year for Tate Britain. The Millbank Project combined the old and new in the building in revealing and inventive ways, and the BP Walk Through 500 Years of British Art did the same for the collection. The BP Spotlight series add a continually changing element to the Walk Through, offering our visitors something to discover for the first time, as well as something to rediscover. New facilities combine with new vistas to reintroduce a much-loved museum.
Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain

The Art Fund Prize for Museum of the Year, awarded annually with a value of £100,000, was established in 2003 (formally the Gulbenkian Prize for museums and galleries 2003-2007) to recognise the very best of the UK’s internationally-acclaimed museums.

This year’s finalists:

See also


TateShots: Kevin McCloud meets New Tate Britain – Part 1

Grand Designs presenter Kevin McCloud discovers the early history of Tate, in the first of a three-part series celebrating the ...