Past Event Other Venue Exhibition

Turner Prize 2013

23 October 2013 – 5 January 2014

The Turner Prize 2013 was awarded to Laure Prouvost

Laure Prouvost wins the Turner Prize 2013

Turner Prize 2013 at Derry~Londonderry

This year the Turner Prize was presented in Northern Ireland for the first time in its history. The exhibition, at Ebrington in Derry~Londonderry, is part of the UK City of Culture 2013.



  • Annie Fletcher, Head of Exhibitions, Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven
  • Susanne Gaensheimer, Director of Frankfurt’s Museum of Modern Art
  • Declan Long, writer and lecturer at National College of Art and Design, Dublin
  • Ralph Rugoff, Director of Hayward Gallery, London
  • The jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain

Turner Prize 2013 in quotes

Laure Prouvost being given the award shows that the Turner Prize still has the capacity to be unpredictable.
Will Gompertz, BBC Arts editor

We had a good discussion about all four artists. They were all discussed seriously but in the end the one that really endured was Laure Prouvost. She offered a lot on many different levels. It was something that was both very intimate and also quite outward facing.
Penelope Curtis, Tate Britain Director

The 29th Turner prize is the best yet… When I say the best, I mean: the most important, the most telling, the most meaningful.
Waldemar Januszczak, The Sunday Times, October 28, 2013

Apply to host the Turner Prize 2019

The Turner Prize exhibition is presented in alternate years at Tate Britain and at a selected UK venue; in 2007 it was presented at Tate Liverpool, in 2011 at Baltic in Gateshead, in 2013 it was presented by Derry-Londonderry as the first UK City of Culture programme, in 2015 it was hosted by Tramway, Glasgow and this year sees it at Ferens Art Gallery as part of Hull City of Culture 2017.  

Tate now invites expressions of interest in hosting the Turner Prize 2019 exhibition and award ceremony. Presenting Turner Prize in venues across the UK creates opportunities for more people to be directly involved in discussions about contemporary British art. The invited partner organisation for 2019 will have a national and international profile and reputation as a venue for ambitious contemporary art programming, with significant audience reach and the capacity to manage a high profile event and media partnerships.  

For further information contact us at:


Other Venue


23 October 2013 – 5 January 2014

Supporting content

Two-minute Turner Prize: Lynette Yiadom-Boakye

A brief introduction to one of the nominees for the 2013 Turner Prize

Two-minute Turner Prize: Tino Sehgal

A brief introduction to one of the nominees for the 2013 Turner Prize

Two-minute Turner Prize: Laure Prouvost

A brief introduction to the nominees for the 2013 Turner Prize 

Two-minute Turner Prize: David Shrigley

A brief introduction to one of the nominees for the 2013 Turner Prize