Display caption

Between 1807 and 1819, Turner executed a series of works to be engraved for his series of landscape prints known as the Liber Studiorum. The landscapes were divided into six categories, which Turner saw as covering all the forms of landscape recognised at the time: marine, architectural, mountainous, historical, pastoral and ideal landscapes.

September 2004