View this artwork by appointment, at Tate Britain's Prints and Drawings Rooms
Launceston’s West Gate having been demolished in 1812, shortly before Turner’s visit,1 he appears to show the North Gate, demolished in 1832,2 looking north up the hill towards the castle; the South Gate still stands. Subsequent changes to Northgate Street make the exact viewpoint difficult to establish. The gateway appears to be shown in the distant views on folio 111 recto (D09601), in the contemporary Devonshire Rivers, No. 3, and Wharfedale sketchbook (Tate D09873 (Turner Bequest CXXXIV 72), and silhouetted in the watercolour of Launceston, Cornwall of about 1826 (private collection),3 engraved in 1827 for the series Picturesque Views in England and Wales. For further views of Launceston, see under folio 106 recto (D09596).
Peter Herring and Bridget Gillard, Launceston: HES Report No 2005R051, Truro 2005, p.17; on line at Historic Cornwall, accessed 13 June 2014, http://www
.historic. -cornwall .org .uk /csus /towns /launceston /csus_launceston_report_2005R051 .pdf
Andrew Wilton, J.M.W. Turner: His Life and Work, Fribourg 1979, p.392 no.792, reproduced.