Press Release

Richard Wright wins the Turner Prize 2009

The Turner Prize 2009 has been awarded to Richard Wright, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening

Tate Britain  Level 2
Tuesday 6 October 2009 – Sunday 3 January 2010

The Turner Prize 2009 has been awarded to Richard Wright, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening. The £25,000 prize was presented by Carol Ann Duffy. This year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The event was broadcast live on Channel 4 News. 

Richard Wright was shortlisted for the work he exhibited in the 55th Carnegie International, Pittsburgh and his exhibition at the Ingleby Gallery, Edinburgh. The jury admired the profound originality and beauty of Wright’s work. Wright uses elaborate and labour-intensive methods to create transient works that respond directly to the architecture and context of a space. Rooted in fine art tradition yet radically conceptual in impact, his works come alive as they are experienced by the viewer.

The jury applauded the strength of the exhibition at Tate Britain and wished to record their admiration for the outstanding presentations of all four artists, which have been extremely well received by the public.

Editor notes

The Turner Prize 2009 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 21 April 2009. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for 2009 were: Enrico David, Roger Hiorns, Lucy Skaer and Richard Wright.

The members of the Turner Prize 2009 Jury were: Charles Esche, Director Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Mariella Frostrup, writer and broadcaster; Jonathan Jones, art critic, The Guardian; Andrea Schlieker, Curator, Folkestone Triennial; and Stepehn Deuchar, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey.

The exhibition of the four shortlisted artists is at Tate Britain until 3 January 2009.