Turner captured the twin towns of East
and West Looe poised on the verge of development and change. The picturesque view from the hill down into the small harbour is one of rural tranquillity.
However the towns also served as a port for nearby copper mines and quarries.
In the right foreground is the bridge
dating from 1411 that linked the two
towns. This bridge was only just over six feet wide and was demolished in 1853 to make way for the expansion of the town's quays and to improve the passageway
of industrial traffic.