Joseph Mallord William Turner

St Mary’s Church, Pulborough, with the Congregation Entering; Pulborough Bridge, on the River Arun

1825

View this artwork by appointment, at Tate Britain's Prints and Drawings Rooms

Artist
Joseph Mallord William Turner 1775–1851
Medium
Watercolour on paper
Dimensions
Support: 187 x 113 mm
Collection
Tate
Acquisition
Accepted by the nation as part of the Turner Bequest 1856
Reference
D18750
Turner Bequest CCXIII 24 a

Catalogue entry

With the page turned vertically, as recognised by Finberg and the Turner scholar C.F. Bell subsequent to Finberg’s 1909 Inventory,1 St Mary’s Church, Pulborough, is seen to the west from the junction of the London Road with Church Place. A war memorial cross now stands beside the lych-gate, through which numerous figures are shown approaching the church.
Towards the gutter is the continuation of the horizontal drawing on folio 25 recto opposite (D18751), showing Pulborough Bridge with the church above. The tower is also seen in sketches on the recto (D18749).

The sequence of sketches between folio 17 verso (D18736) and (apparently) folio 26 recto (D18753), and possibly 26 verso (D18754), comprises Sussex subjects in the vicinity of Petworth. For a note on Lord Egremont, Petworth, and Turner’s work there, see the sketchbook’s Introduction.

Matthew Imms
December 2014

1
Undated MS notes by A.J. Finberg (died 1939) and C.F. Bell (died 1966) in their respective copies of Finberg 1909, Tate Britain Prints and Drawings Room, vol.II, p.649.

Read full Catalogue entry

Explore

You might like