Joseph Mallord William Turner

St Nicholas’s Church and Milner Court, Sturry; Outlines of Buildings

c.1830

View this artwork by appointment, at Tate Britain's Prints and Drawings Rooms

Artist
Joseph Mallord William Turner 1775–1851
Medium
Graphite on paper
Dimensions
Support: 76 x 98 mm
Collection
Tate
Acquisition
Accepted by the nation as part of the Turner Bequest 1856
Reference
D35775
Turner Bequest CCCLXIII 10

Catalogue entry

The village of Sturry stands on the River Great Stour, along the main road to Margate about three miles north-east of Canterbury (see under folio 3 recto; D35761). Inverted relative to the sketchbook’s foliation, the main sketch continues across folio 9 verso opposite (D35774), where Milner Court is shown. On the left of the spatially compressed view is the north side of St Nicholas’s Church, with the imposing red-brick Tudor arch on Milner Lane a little way beyond, and further on again a large mill (which does not survive) by the millpond bridge, itself now by-passed by a modern crossing on its far side. There is a view in this direction from the mill on folio 11 verso (D35778).
In the outer third of the present page, turned vertically and separated from the main view by a pencil line which disrupts the architecture of the church, is a rough skyline with a tower, possibly with an even slighter sketch to its left the other way up; they may show other aspects of Sturry or another site.
Technical notes:
Some scattered brown staining has offset onto folio 9 verso opposite (D35774) and also passed through to the verso (D35776).

Matthew Imms
September 2016

Read full Catalogue entry

Explore