Turner Prize 2005
Tate Britain: Exhibition
18 October 200522 January 2006
Part of the series Turner Prize
  • Simon Starling Installation view, Turner Prize 2005 exhibition

    Simon Starling
    Installation view, Turner Prize 2005 exhibition

    © Tate 2005

The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 9 May 2005. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

The artists

The four artists shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2005 are Darren Almond, Gillian Carnegie, Jim Lambie and Simon Starling. The Turner Prize 2005 exhibition presents recent and new work by all four artists.

The jury

The members of the Turner Prize 2005 jury are:

Louisa Buck, London contemporary art correspondent, The Art Newspaper
Kate Bush, Head of Art Galleries, Barbican Art Gallery
Caoimhin Mac Giolla Leith, art critic and Lecturer, Modern Irish Department, University College Dublin
Eckhard Schneider, Director, Kunsthaus Bregenz
Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate and Chairman of the Jury

The winner

The Turner Prize 2005 has been awarded to Simon Starling. The £25,000 prize, sponsored by the makers of Gordon’s gin, was presented by Culture Minister David Lammy. With Gordon’s support this year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

Find out more about Simon Starling