Joseph Mallord William Turner

Whitehaven Castle

1809

View this artwork by appointment, at Tate Britain's Prints and Drawings Rooms

Medium
Graphite on paper
Dimensions
Support: 116 x 185 mm
Collection
Tate
Acquisition
Accepted by the nation as part of the Turner Bequest 1856
Reference
D07581
Turner Bequest CX 39

Catalogue entry

Whitehaven Castle was the Lowther family’s residence in the town, which it surveys from higher ground on Flatt Walks, looking down Lowther Street. From it the Earl of Lonsdale controlled his family’s interests in Whitehaven port and the mines nearby. Originally known as Flatt Hall or The Flatts, the mansion was rebuilt by Robert Adam, with the addition of battlements, and renamed Whitehaven Castle in the 1760s. Later a hospital, it is now apartments. Turner shows the entrance front from the south-west, near the top of Lowther Street, and to right the garden front with its projecting semi-circular bay. He also adds a detail of one of the windows with its stone lintel. He does not show the once-beautiful gardens.

David Blayney Brown
August 2009

Read full Catalogue entry

Explore