Press Release

Turner Prize 2003 shortlist announced

Turner Prize 2003 shortlist announced: Press related to past exhibition.

Tate today announced the four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2003, sponsored by Channel 4. The artists are:

Jake and Dinos Chapman for their exhibitions at Museum Kunst Palast, Düsseldorf, White Cube, London and Modern Art Oxford in which their striking sculptural installations and graphic works investigate society’s taboos with humour and provocation, appropriating imagery from diverse sources including historic art and consumer culture.

Willie Doherty for the continuing strength and relevance of his film installations and photographic works in addressing the complexities of living in divided societies as demonstrated in his exhibition at the Irish Museum of Modern Art, Dublin, and his contribution to the XXV São Paulo Bienal.

Anya Gallaccio for solo presentations of her work at Tate Britain and the Ikon Gallery, Birmingham, in which she furthered her innovative explorations of the tension between organic and traditional sculptural materials, such as sugar, wax and bronze, to create poetic works which encapsulate the passing of time.

Grayson Perry for his unique work exhibited at the Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, and the Barbican Art Gallery, London, which combined the traditions of fine and decorative arts, including drawing, embroidery and ceramics, to explore compelling personal and social themes.

The Turner Prize, now in its twentieth year, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 9 May 2003. The Prize was established in 1984 by Tate’s Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. It is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown in an exhibition at Tate Britain from 29 October 2003 – 18 January 2004. The winner of the £20,000 prize will be announced at Tate Britain on 7 December 2003 during a live broadcast by Channel 4.

The members of the Turner Prize 2003 Jury are: Richard Calvocoressi, Director, Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art; Frank Cohen, representative of the Patrons of New Art; Chrissie Iles, Curator, Film and Video, Whitney Museum of American Art; Andrew Wilson, Critic and Deputy Editor, Art Monthly; Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate and Chairman of the Jury.

An extensive events programme of discussions and talks will be been organised at Tate Britain. Information on the Turner Prize is available at Tate Online ( and Channel 4’s website (