Past Event Tate Modern Exhibition

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker Fase: Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich

scene from Fase: Four movements to the Music of Steve Reich 1982, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker

One of the most important choreographers of the late 20th century, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker will adapt her widely acclaimed 1982 performance, Fase: Four Movements to the Music of Steve Reich, for The Tanks.

Fase, an hour-long minimalist dance performed by De Keersmaeker and a partner, is considered to be the starting point of the contemporary dance movement that developed in Flanders during the 1980s. In her choreography, De Keersmaeker explores the relationship between music and dance and aims to articulate the basic principles of the musical composition rather than allowing the dance to simply illustrate the music.

Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Tale Dolven will perform each part of the Fase throughout the day from Wednesday to Friday. On Thursday and Friday evenings all four parts will be performed in one hour-long performance

On 20 July, Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker will be in-conversation with performance theorist and musicologist Bojana Cvejić to mark the launch of a new publication A Choreographer’s Score: Fase, Rosas danst Rosas, Elena’s Aria, Bartók. The event will be introduced by Chris Dercon, Director of Tate Modern, and renowned choreographer Jonathan Burrows. The presentation includes a special performance of Rosas danst Rosas, danced by Tale Dolven, Cynthia Loemij, Fumiyo Ikeda and Elizaveta Penkóva. The publication, A Choreographer's Score, offers an insight into de Keersmaeker’s choreography and into the making of four of her early works through interviews, drawings, schemes, photos, working notes, post-performance documents and four DVDs.

Performance credits: Fase, four movements to the music of Steve Reich

Choreography: Anne Teresa De KeersmaekerDanced by: Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Tale DolvenCreated with: Michèle Anne De Mey (Piano Phase, Clapping Music), Jennifer Everhard (Come Out)Music: Steve Reich – Piano Phase (1967), Come Out (1966), Violin Phase (1967), Clapping Music (1972)Light design: Remon Fromont (Piano Phase & Clapping Music), Mark Schwentner (Violin Phase & Come Out)Adaptation for Tate: Ann Veronica JanssensCostumes: 1981: Martine André / Anne Teresa De KeersmaekerArtistic director: Anne Van AerschotTechnical Coordination: Joris ErvenTechnicians: Wannes De Rydt, Michael SmetsWorld Premiere: 18 March 1982 Beursschouwburg (Brussels)Production 1982: Schaamte vzw (Brussels), Avila vzw (Brussels)Coproduction Early Works: Sadler's Wells (London), Les Théâtres de la Ville de LuxembourgRunning time: 1:10

A Choreographer’s Score: Fase, Rosas danst Rosas, Elena’s Aria, Bartók.Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker and Bojana Cvejić; published by Rosas and Mercatorfonds, May 2012; 256 pages, soft cover; 4 DVDs; €49.95; ISBN 978 90 6153 541 6

Performance information

Short daytime performances, free, no booking necessary

Wednesday 18 July 13:00 Piano Phase, 24 min 14:00 Come Out, 14 min 15:00 Violin Phase, 16 min 16:00 Clapping Music, 7min Thursday 19 July 13:00 Piano Phase, 24 min 14:00 Come Out, 14 min 15:00 Violin Phase, 16 min 16:00 Clapping Music, 7min Friday 20 July 11:00 Piano Phase, 24 min 12:00 Come Out, 14 min 13:00 Violin Phase, 16 min 14:00 Clapping Music, 7min

16:00 Book Presentation

A Choreographer’s Score with Anne Teresa De Keersmaeker, Bojana Cvejić, Jonathan Burrows and Chris Dercon Free, no booking necessary

Ticketed evening performances£15 (£12 concessions), booking recommendedThursday 19 July, 20.30 – 21.30Friday 20 July, 20.30 – 21.30

Please note these performances are standing only

No photography or filming permitted

Part of the series The Tanks: Art in Action

Tate Modern

London SE1 9TG
Plan your visit


18–20 July 2012

Find out more