Press Release

Turner Prize 2002 shortlist announced

Turner Prize 2002 shortlist announced: Press related to past exhibition.

Tate today announced the four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2002, sponsored by Channel 4. The artists are:

Fiona Banner for her exhibitions at the Kunstverein Aachen and Dundee Contemporary Arts, in which she revealed her new large graphite drawings, and where she interwove graphic, sculptural and sound works, as well as extending the sources of her film-based text works.

Liam Gillick for his outdoor installation at Tate Britain and his exhibition at the Whitechapel Gallery, London, in which he reaffirmed his ability to create complex works of art which set up the possibility of dialogue, often achieved in collaboration with other artists internationally. His writings and curatorial projects were also noted.

Keith Tyson for his exhibitions at the Venice Biennale, the South London Gallery, and the Kunsthalle Zurich, where the energy, richness and breadth of content, and the playfulness of his large graphic works, as well as the relationship to them of his machine sculptures, was vividly apparent.

Catherine Yass for her exhibitions at the Indian Triennial and at asprey jacques, London, in which she furthered her explorations of portraiture (notably in the works resulting from her recent stay in India), as well as of architecture, where she extended her practice into film.

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 10 May 2002. The Prize was established in 1984 by Tate’s Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. It is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown in an exhibition at Tate Britain from 30 October 2002 - 5 January 2003. The winner of the £20,000 prize will be announced at Tate Britain on 8 December 2002 during a live broadcast by Channel 4.

The members of the Turner Prize 2002 Jury are: Michael Archer, critic and lecturer; Susan Ferleger Brades, Director, Hayward Gallery, London; Alfred Pacquement, Director, National Museum of Modern Art, Pompidou Centre, Paris; Greville Worthington, representative of the Patrons of New Art; Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate, and Chairman of the Jury.

An extensive events programme of discussions and talks will be been organised at Tate Britain and other galleries throughout the UK. Information on the Turner Prize and associated events is available on the Tate website ( and Channel 4’s website (