Press Release

Keith Tyson wins the Turner Prize 2002

Keith Tyson wins the Turner Prize 2002: Press related to past Tate exhibition.

The Turner Prize 2002 has been awarded to Keith Tyson, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening. The £20,000 prize, sponsored by Channel 4 since 1991, was presented by architect Daniel Libeskind.

Keith Tyson was shortlisted for his exhibitions at the Venice Biennale of Art, the South London Gallery, and the Kunsthalle Zurich.

In awarding Tyson the Turner Prize the jury praised the strong visual energy of his work across a wide range of media including drawing, painting, sculpture and installation. They admired the way in which his work embraces the poetic, the logical, the humorous and the fantastical and draws connections between them. They particularly noted the continuing progression in his work evident in his presentation for the Turner Prize exhibition.

The jury also stressed the strength of the shortlist and wished to record their admiration for the outstanding presentations produced by all four artists.

The Turner Prize 2002 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of his or her work in the twelve months preceding 10 May 2002. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for 2002 were: Fiona Banner, Liam Gillick, Keith Tyson and Catherine Yass.

The 2002 Turner Prize jury consisted of Michael Archer, critic and lecturer; Susan Ferleger Brades, Director, Hayward Gallery, London; Alfred Pacquement, Director, National Museum of Modern Art, Pompidou Centre, Paris; Greville Worthington, representative of the Patrons of New Art; Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate, and Chairman of the Jury.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed.