Press Release

Turner Prize Jury 2018 announced

Turner Prize Jury 2018 announced

Image of outside Tate Britain building 2013 with traffic

Tate Britain
© Tate Photography

Tate announces today that Oliver Basciano, art critic and International Editor at ArtReview; Elena Filipovic, Director, Kunsthalle Basel; Lisa LeFeuvre, Head of Sculpture Studies, Henry Moore Institute; and Tom McCarthy, novelist and writer, will be the jurors for Turner Prize 2018 at Tate Britain. It is also announced today that the criteria of the Prize have been modified. Artists of any age will be eligible to be shortlisted and the Turner Prize exhibition will now be taken into consideration by the jury as part of the terms of the Prize, alongside the projects for which the artists are nominated.

The Turner Prize, established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art, will continue to be awarded annually to an artist, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or public presentation of their work anywhere in the world in the previous year. One of the best known prizes for the visual arts, it aims to promote public debate around new developments in contemporary art. Since 2011 it has been staged outside of London every other year. The term which stipulated that shortlisted artists must be under 50 was introduced in 1991 to distinguish the Turner Prize from a lifetime achievement award.

Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain and chair of the Turner Prize jury said: “I am delighted to announce our esteemed jury for Turner Prize 2018 as well as the modified terms of the award. We have always kept these terms under review and we feel that now is the right moment to make this change. The Turner Prize has always championed emerging artists - it has never been a prize for long service but for a memorable presentation of work in that year. Now that its reputation is so firmly established, we want to acknowledge the fact that artists can experience a breakthrough in their work at any age.”

The jury for the 2017 Prize will now be able to consider artists over 50 for their shortlist. The jury for 2017 is Dan Fox, Co-Editor at Frieze; Martin Herbert, art critic; Mason Leaver-Yap, Walker Art Center’s Bentson Scholar of Moving Image in Minneapolis, and Associate Curator at KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin; and Emily Pethick, Director, Showroom. The four shortlisted artists will be announced in early May, and the exhibition of their work will open at Ferens Art Gallery in Hull on 26 September 2017.

For press enquiries please contact or call +44(0)20 7887 8730


Previous Turner Prize winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey; 2009 Richard Wright; 2010 Susan Philipsz; 2011 Martin Boyce; 2012 Elizabeth Price; 2013 Laure Prouvost; 2014 Duncan Campbell; 2015 Assemble; 2016 Helen Marten.