Press Release

Mark Wallinger wins the Turner Prize 2007

Mark Wallinger wins the Turner Prize 2007: Press related to past event.

The Turner Prize 2007 has been awarded to Mark Wallinger, it was announced at Tate Liverpool this evening. The £25,000 prize was presented by Dennis Hopper. The Turner Prize 2007 is supported by Arts Council England, Liverpool Culture Company, Northwest Regional Development Agency, Milligan and Tate Members. With the support of the sponsors, this year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The event was broadcast live on Channel 4 News.  

Mark Wallinger was shortlisted for State Britain at Tate Britain, a direct representation of the banners and paraphernalia of Brian Haw’s protest in Parliament Square. The jury commended its immediacy, visceral intensity and historic importance. The work combines a bold political statement with art’s ability to articulate fundamental human truths.

The jury stressed the strength of the exhibition at Tate Liverpool and wished to record their admiration for the outstanding presentations produced by all four artists.

The Turner Prize 2007 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of his or her work in the twelve months preceding 8 May 2007. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for 2007 were: Zarina Bhimji, Nathan Coley, Mike Nelson and Mark Wallinger.

The members of the Turner Prize 2007 jury were: Michael Bracewell, writer and critic; Fiona Bradley, Director, Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh; Thelma Golden, Director & Chief Curator, StudioMuseum, Harlem; Miranda Sawyer, freelance broadcaster and writer and Christoph Grunenberg, Director of Tate Liverpool and Chairman of the Jury.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts.

The Turner Prize is being held at Tate Liverpool this year as a curtain-raiser for Liverpool’s year as European Capital of Culture in 2008. This is the first time the prize has been presented outside London since it began in 1984. In its place, Tate Britain is presenting an exhibition which celebrates the history of the Turner Prize over the last twenty-three years. The exhibition runs at Tate Liverpool until 13 January 2008. The prize will return to Tate Britain in 2008.