Press Release

Nominations invited for the 2000 Turner Prize

The sixteenth Turner Prize will be awarded at Tate Britain on 28 November 2000 to: A British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 25 May 1999. The Turner Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art, and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. It is now widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe. The £20,000 Prize is awarded annually by a jury selected by the Patrons of New Art. The members of the Turner Prize 2000 Jury will be:

Jan Debbaut
Stedelijk Van Abbemuseum,

Keir McGuinness
Patrons of New Art

Juila Peyton-Jones
Serpentine Gallery

Matthew Slotover
frieze magazine

Nicholas Serota
Tate Director and Chairman of the Jury

Nominations closed on 25 May 2000

The Jury reserves the right to consider any artist not already nominated.

For the purposes of nomination for the Turner Prize, the term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British born artists who may be working abroad.

A shortlist of names will be agreed by the Jury and announced on 14 June 2000. Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown at the Tate Gallery in a special exhibition from 25 October 2000 to 14 January 2001. The Turner Prize will be awarded on 28 November 2000 and will be presented at an award ceremony at the Tate Gallery during a live broadcast produced by Illuminations for Channel 4.

The work of the short-listed artists will be the focus for a wide range of events both at the Tate in London and some other galleries around the country during the period of the exhibition.

For more information about the prize visit the Frequently Asked Questions section of this site.

The 1998 Turner Prize is again sponsored by Channel 4