Press Release

Simon Starling wins the Turner Prize 2005

Simon Starling wins the Turner Prize 2005: Press related to past exhibition.

The Turner Prize 2005 has been awarded to Simon Starling, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening. The £25,000 prize, sponsored by the makers of Gordon’s gin, was presented by Culture Minister David Lammy. With Gordon’s support this year’s prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The event was broadcast live on Channel 4.

Simon Starling was shortlisted for his exhibitions at The Modern Institute, Glasgow and the Fundació Joan Miró, Barcelona. He transforms and reframes existing objects using a rigorous process of research to develop his sculptural installations. The jury admired his unique ability to create poetic narratives which draw together a wide range of cultural, political and historical references.

The jury stressed the strength of the exhibition at Tate Britain and wished to record their admiration for the outstanding presentations produced by all four artists.

The Turner Prize 2005 is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of his or her work in the twelve months preceding 9 May 2005. (The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad.) The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for 2005 were: Darren Almond, Gillian Carnegie, Jim Lambie and Simon Starling.

The members of the Turner Prize 2005 Jury were: Louisa Buck, London correspondent, The Art Newspaper; Kate Bush, Head of Art Galleries, Barbican Centre; Caoimhín Mac Giolla Léith, Art critic and Lecturer, Modern Irish Department, University College Dublin; Eckhard Schneider, Director, Kunsthaus Bregenz; Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate and Chairman of the Jury.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller.

This year saw the launch of the Gordon’s ‘Judge For Yourself’ tour. It was the first time elements of the Turner Prize have been taken outside Tate Britain. The Gordon’s ‘Judge For Yourself’ tour travelled to mainline train stations across the UK during November and was experienced by over 120,000 commuters.