Other Venue Exhibition

Turner Prize 2015


The Turner Prize 2015 was awarded to Assemble. The £25,000 prize was presented by artist, musician and songwriter, Kim Gordon during a live broadcast on Channel 4

Arguably Europe’s most prestigious contemporary visual art award is coming to Scotland for the first time.

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the preceding year. 

Every other year, the prize leaves Tate Britain and is presented at a venue outside London. For 2015, that venue will be Tramway in Glasgow, an international art-space renowned for commissioning, producing and presenting contemporary arts projects.


The shortlisted artists are (in alphabetical order):

The Turner Prize award is £40,000, with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

The winner of the prize will be announced live on Channel 4 on 7 December 2015.

Given how many artists from Glasgow have made up the Turner Prize shortlists over recent years, it is great to have the Prize on show in Tramway, which feels like a natural home for the Prize this year.
Dr Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain 

Over the last 20 years, Glasgow and Scotland has gained national and international recognition as a centre of excellence in, and for, the visual arts and for many years artists who are from Scotland or who have trained at the Glasgow School of Art – one of the world’s leading art schools – have been nominated for, or won, the award.
Nicholas Serota, Director, Tate 

In addition to the exhibition, there will be an extensive programme of workshops, talks, tours and activities for people of all ages to get involved and be inspired by the creative work on show.

The members of the 2015 Turner Prize Jury are:

  • Mr Alistair Hudson, Director, Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art
  • Jan Verwoert, Critic and Curator
  • Ms Joanna Mytkowska, Director, Warsaw Museum of Modern Art
  • Ms Kyla McDonald, Artistic Director, Glasgow Sculpture Studios

The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain.

Watch the 2015 Turner Prize Award film.

Watch the Turner Prize nominee films:

Other Venue


1 October 2015 – 17 January 2016

Supported by

Find out more

  • Turner Prize Timeline

    Explore the history of one of the most established contemporary art prizes in the world alongside related key news events, …