Turner Prize 2016: about the artists

The Turner Prize is awarded annually to an artist under fifty, born, living or working in Britain, for an outstanding exhibition or public presentation of their work anywhere in the world in the previous year.

This exhibition presents recent work by the shortlisted artists: Michael Dean, Anthea Hamilton, Helen Marten and Josephine Pryde. Where possible this work is representative of the presentations for which they have been nominated.

Since it was established in 1984 the Turner Prize has become one of the most prestigious international visual arts awards and has both reflected and contributed to a growing public awareness and interest in contemporary art. This year’s Turner Prize is awarded on 5 December 2016. The announcement will be broadcast on the BBC. A publication giving more information about the artists is available in all Tate shops.

This year’s Turner Prize artists have kindly given their permission to allow visitors to take photographs in the exhibition. You are encouraged to share your photographs using #turnerprize.

In 2017 the Turner Prize will be presented at the Ferens Art Gallery in Hull.