Tate St Ives Exhibition

The Indiscipline of Painting International abstraction from the 1960s to now

The Indiscipline of painting exhibition banner

The Indiscipline of Painting is an international group exhibition including works by forty-nine artists from the 1960s to now. Selected by British painter Daniel Sturgis, it considers how the languages of abstraction have remained urgent, relevant and critical as they have been revisited and reinvented by subsequent generations of artists over the last 50 years. It goes on to demonstrate the way in which the history and legacy of abstract painting continues to inspire artists working today.

The contemporary position of abstract painting is problematic. It can be seen to be synonymous with a modernist moment that has long since passed, and an ideology which led the medium to stagnate in self-reflexivity and ideas of historical progression. The Indiscipline of Painting challenges such assumptions. It reveals how painting’s modernist histories, languages and positions have continued to provoke ongoing dialogues with contemporary practitioners, even as painting’s decline and death has been routinely and erroneously declared.

The show brings together works by British, American and European artists made over the last five decades and features major new commissions and loans. It includes important works by Andy Warhol, Frank Stella, Gerhard Richter and Bridget Riley alongside other lesser known artists such as Tomma Abts, Martin Barré, Mary Heilmann and Jeremy Moon.

The Indiscipline of Painting is a collaborative project between Tate St Ives and Mead Gallery, Warwick Arts Centre. The exhibition travels to the Mead Gallery and opens on the 14 January 2012, running until 10 March 2012.

As part of The Indiscipline of Painting, Newlyn Art Gallery has commissioned John M. Armleder to make a major new work. John M. Armleder is at Newlyn Art Gallery 8 October 2011 – 3 January 2012.

The exhibition includes works from the following 49 artists (in alphabetical order):

Tomma Abts born 1967; John M. Armleder born 1948 ; Tauba Auerbach born 1981; Martin Barré 1924–1993; Francis Baudevin born 1964; Daniel Buren born 1938 ; André Cadere 1934–1978; Ingrid Calame born 1965 ; Keith Coventry born 1958 ; Michael Craig‑Martin born 1941; Karin Davie born 1965; Peter Davies born 1970; Gene Davis 1920–1985; David Diao born 1943; Moira Dryer 1957–1992; Bernard Frize born 1949; Michelle Grabner born 1962; Tim Head born 1946; Alex Hubbard born 1975; Katharina Grosse born 1961; Peter Halley born 1953; Jane Harris born 1956; Mary Heilmann born 1940; Jacob Kassay born 1984; Richard Kirwan born 1969; Imi Knoebel born 1940; Bob Law 1934–2004; Sherrie Levine born 1947; Jeremy Moon 1934–1973; Olivier Mosset born 1944; Carl Ostendarp born 1961; Blinky Palermo 1943–1977; Steven Parrino 1958-2005; David Reed born 1946; Gerhard Richter born 1932; Bridget Riley born 1931; Ruth Root born 1967; Robert Ryman born 1930; Sean Scully born 1945; Frank Stella born 1936; Myron Stout 1908–1987; Daniel Sturgis born 1966; Cheyney Thompson born 1975; Niele Toroni born 1937; Richard Tuttle born 1941; Dan Walsh born 1960; Andy Warhol 1928–1987; Peter Young born 1940; Heimo Zobernig born 1958.

The exhibition has been selected by British artist Daniel Sturgis, and curated with Martin Clark, Artistic Director, Tate St Ives and Sarah Shalgosky, Curator, University of Warwick.

Tate St Ives

Porthmeor Beach
St Ives
Cornwall TR26 1TG
Plan your visit


8 October 2011 – 3 January 2012