Joseph Mallord William Turner

Lydford Castle and St Petroc’s Church

1814

In Tate Britain

Prints and Drawings Room

View by appointment
Artist
Joseph Mallord William Turner 1775–1851
Medium
Graphite on paper
Dimensions
Support: 90 x 152 mm
Collection
Tate
Acquisition
Accepted by the nation as part of the Turner Bequest 1856
Reference
D09523
Turner Bequest CXXXII 40

Catalogue entry

The square keep of Lydford Castle and the tower of St Petroc’s Church (almost obscured by a stain at the top right) are seen from the north-west, from the depression on that side of the village which runs into Lydford Gorge towards the south-east, beyond this composition towards the right. There is a more detailed version on folio 41 recto (D09524) and a similar view from further back on folio 39 recto (D09522). For other views around Lydford, see under folio 28 recto (D09510).
Technical notes:
There is a prominent brown stain around the top right corner, possibly caused in the 1928 Tate flood.
Verso:
Blank

Matthew Imms
June 2014

Read full Catalogue entry

Explore

You might like