Press Release

Steve McQueen wins the 1999 Turner Prize

Steve McQueen wins the 1999 Turner Prize: Press related to past exhibition.

The 1999 Turner Prize has been awarded to Steve McQueen it was announced at the Tate Gallery this evening. The £20,000 prize, sponsored by Channel 4 since 1991, was presented by architect Zaha Hadid. It was also announced that Channel 4 will continue to sponsor the Turner Prize for another three years.

Steve McQueen was shortlisted for his exhibition at the ICA which included his film piece Deadpan 1997 and a major new video installation Drumroll 1998. In awarding him the prize the jury admired the poetry and clarity of his vision, the range of his work, its emotional intensity and economy of means. They were excited by his continuing intellectual and technical evolution.

The jury also praised the work of Tracey Emin, Steven Pippin and Jane and Louise Wilson and wished to thank them for their contribution in making such a strong exhibition. They applauded the exhibition’s part in broadening the debate about contemporary art in Britain.

The Turner Prize is awarded to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of his or her work in the twelve months preceding 31 May 1999. The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. The shortlisted artists for the 1999 Turner Prize were: Tracey Emin, Steve McQueen, Steven Pippin and Jane and Louise Wilson.

The members of the 1999 Turner Prize Jury are: Bernhard Bürgi, Director of the Kunsthalle, Zurich; Sacha Craddock, writer and critic; Judith Nesbitt, Head of Programming, Whitechapel Art Gallery; Alice Rawsthorn, architectural critic and representative of the Patrons of New Art; Nicholas Serota, Director of the Tate Gallery and Chairman of the Jury.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; (1990 Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing and 1998 Chris Ofili.

The Turner Prize Exhibition will continue to be held at the Tate, Millbank which will be relaunched on 24 March 2000 as Tate Britain.