Tate Modern Performance

Stockhausen London Symphony Orchestra at Tate Modern

colour abstract image

Sir Simon Rattle and the London Symphony Orchestra present two 20th-century stereophonic masterpieces in the epic space of the Turbine Hall

Stockhausen’s avant-garde landmark Gruppen (Groups) is written for three separate orchestras, with the audience literally surrounded by an extraordinary and sometimes overwhelming soundscape. Rarely heard live due to its musical and practical demands, this is a special occasion not to be missed.

The concert opens with Messiaen’s powerful Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum (I Await the Resurrection of the Dead). An extended fanfare for brass, winds and percussion, rich layers of sound abound – from the delicate to the earth-shattering – in a work the composer himself said was 'destined for vast spaces'.

Designed like a gallery space, this event will have no set seating, allowing you to experience the music from around the Turbine Hall, gaining different perspectives of the aural pictures that it paints.


MESSIAEN Et exspecto resurrectionem mortuorum

Sir Simon Rattle conductor
Matthias Pintscher conductor
Duncan Ward conductor
London Symphony Orchestra

Each performance will last 60 minutes.

London Orchestra

London Symphony Orchestra at LSO St Luke's

© LSO / Ranald Mackechnie

Tate Modern

Turbine Hall

London SE1 9TG
Plan your visit


30 June 2018 at 16.30–17.30

30 June 2018 at 18.15–19.15

In association with